Book Review: Research Design: Creating Robust Approaches for the Social Sciences

Not many people get excited about research design and methodology. My own mother cites her hatred of research methods courses as the primary reason she never ended up pursuing a PhD. I can’t say that I’m a massive fan of them either, but that has more to do with having had to have taken 10+ of them throughout my academic career. Now I teach them. That’s life. But research in the social sciences is our raison de’être. Properly conducted research it the life blood of the social sciences and too much of the research being conducted out there is poison to this blood. We don’t want to be a zombie field.

I’ve taken this metaphor too far, so I’m going leave it be and get to the point.

Today, LSE Review of Books published my latest book review: Gorard’s Research Design.

Book Review: Research Design: Creating Robust Approaches for the Social Sciences.

Leave a Reply

